KnowItAlz.com

Alzheimer's Blog

Government Resources

This page lists various government resources on aging and Alzheimer's.

Alzheimer's Disease Education and Referral (ADEAR) Center

The ADEAR Center was established by the National Institute on Aging (NIA) as an information resource for health professionals, patients and their families, and the general public.

P.O. Box 8250
Silver Spring, MD 20907-8250
Phone: (301) 495-3311 or 1-800-438-4380
Internet www.alzheimers.org

 

National Institute on Aging

The NIA promotes healthy aging by conducting and supporting biomedical, social, and behavioral research and public education. They publish a variety of free information addressing problems concerning aging and health care.

Bldg. 31, Rm. 5c27
31 Center Dr. MSC 2292
Bethesda, MD 20894
Phone: (301) 496-1752
Internet: www.nih.gov/nia

 

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)

NINDS conducts and supports biomedical research on disorders of the brain and nervous system and provides free information concerning neurological disorders for the public.
P.O. Box 5801
Bethesda, MD 20824
Phone: (301)496-5751
Toll-free: (800) 352-9424
Internet: www.ninds.nih.gov

 

Eldercare Locator

This national organization, part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, offers information and referrals for a wide variety of services for older people in their communities. These include adult day care, respite for caregivers, transportation, home health care, meals on wheels, assistance with housing and other services available locally.
Toll-free: 1-800-677-1116
Internet: www.eldercare.gov/Eldercare/Public/Home.asp

 

National Council on Aging

Founded in 1950, the National Council on Aging (NCOA) is a nonprofit organization that includes 3,200 members and a national network of more than 14,000 organizations and leaders. Members include senior centers, area agencies on aging, adult day service centers, faith-based service organizations, senior housing facilities, employment services, consumer groups, and leaders from academia, business, and labor.

Programs help older people remain healthy and independent, find jobs, increase access to benefits programs, and discover meaningful ways to continue contributing to society.

NCOA Headquarters
1901 L Street, N.W.
4th floor
Washington, D.C. 20036

Phone: 202-479-1200
Fax: 202-479-0735
TDD: 202-479-6674

Internet: http://benefitscheckup.org/

 

Medicare Help Line

They provide information on Medicare, Medicaid, and Medicare's numerous health insurance options. Helpful nursing home information includes patients' rights, and nationwide ombudsman advocacy programs. Medicare operates a toll-free hotline to answer questions about coverage and to get information about a patient's claims.

Toll-free: 1-800-633-4227

Internet: www.medicare.gov

State Agencies on Aging by State

ALABAMA
Region IV
Irene Collins, Executive Director
Alabama Department of Senior Services
PO Box 301851
770 Washington Avenue, Suite 470
Montgomery, AL 36130 -1851
(334) 242-5743 or 1-800-243-5463
Fax: (334) 242-5594
E-mail: icollins@adss.state.al.us

ALASKA
Region X
Denise Daniello, Executive Director
Alaska Commission on Aging
Department of Health and Social Services
150 Third Street, No. 103
P.O. Box 110693
Juneau, AK 99811-0693
(907) 465-4879
Fax: (907) 465-4716
E-mail: denise_daniello@health.state.ak.us

ARIZONA
Region IX
Robert York, Administrator
Arizona Aging and Adult Administration
Department of Economic Security
1789 W. Jefferson, No. 950A
Phoenix, AZ 85007
(602) 542-4446
Fax: (602) 542-6575
E-mail: ryork@azdes.gov

ARKANSAS
Region VI
Herb Sanderson, Director
Arkansas Division of Aging and Adult Services
Department of Human Services
P.O. Box 1437
700 Main Street, 5th Floor, S530
(FedEx zip 72201)
Little Rock, AR 72203-1437
(501) 682-2441
Fax: (501) 682-8155
E-mail: Herb.sanderson@arkansas.gov

CALIFORNIA
Region IX
Lora Connolly, Acting Director
California Department of Aging
1300 National Drive, #200
Sacramento, CA 95834
(916) 419-7500
Fax: (916) 928-2268
E-mail: lconnoll@aging.ca.gov

COLORADO
Region VIII
Jeanette Hensley, Director
Colorado Division of Aging and Adult Services
Department of Human Services
1575 Sherman Street
Ground Floor
Denver, CO 80203-1714
(303) 866-2636
Fax: (303) 866-2696
E-mail: Jeanette.Hensley@state.co.us

CONNECTICUT
Region I
Pamela Giannini, Director
Connecticut Bureau of Aging Community
& Social Work Services

Department of Social Services
25 Sigourney Street
Hartford, CT 06106
(860) 424-5277
Fax: (860) 424-5301
E-mail: Pamela.giannini@po.state.ct.us

DELAWARE
Region III
Allan Zaback, Director
Delaware Division of Services for Aging and Adults
with Physical Disabilities

Dept of Health and Social Services
1901 North DuPont Highway
New Castle, DE 19720
(302) 255-9390
Fax: (302) 255-4445
e-mail: azaback@state.de.us

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
Region III
Sam Gawad, Interim Director
District of Columbia Office on Aging
One Judiciary Square
441 4th Street, N.W., 9th Floor
Washington, DC 20001
(202) 724-5622
Fax: (202) 724-4979
E-mail: sam.gawad@dc.gov

FLORIDA
Region IV
Doug Beach, Secretary
Florida Department of Elder Affairs
4040 Esplanade Way
Suite 315
Tallahassee, FL 32399
(850) 414-2000
Fax: (850) 414-2004
E-mail: dbeach@elderaffairs.org

GEORGIA
Region IV
Maria Greene, Director
Georgia Division for Aging Services
2 Peachtree St. N.W. 9th Floor
Atlanta, GA 30303
(404) 657-5258
Fax: (404) 657-5285
E-mail: magreene@dhr.state.ga.us

GUAM
Region IX
Arthur U. San Agustin, Senior Citizens Administrator
Guam Division of Senior Citizens
Department of Public Health and Social Services
Government of Guam
P.O. Box 2816
Hagaina, Guam 96932
011 (671) 475-0263
Fax: (671) 477-2930
E-mail: chiefdsc@dphss.govguam.net

HAWAII
Region IX
Pat Sasaki, Director
Hawaii Executive Office on Aging
No. 1 Capitol District
250 South Hotel Street, Suite 406
Honolulu, HI 96813-2831
(808) 586-0100
Fax: (808) 586-0185
E-mail: pasasaki@mail.health.state.hi.us

IDAHO
Region X
Lois Bauer, Administrator
Idaho Commission on Aging
3380 Americana Terrace, No. 120
PO Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0007
(208) 334-3833
Fax: (208) 334-3033
E-mail: lbauer@aging.idaho.gov

ILLINOIS
Region V
Charles Johnson, Director
Illinois Department on Aging
421 East Capitol Avenue
Springfield, IL 62701
(217) 785-2870
Fax: (217) 785-4477
E-mail: Charles.Johnson@aging.state.il.us

INDIANA
Region V
Stephen Smith, Director
Indiana Division on Aging
Division of Disability, Aging and Rehabilitative Services
Family and Services Administration
402 W. Washington Street
P.O. Box 7083
Indianapolis, IN 46207-7083
(317) 232-7123
Fax: (317) 232-7867
E-mail: Stephen.smith@fssa.in.gov

IOWA
Region VII
Mark Haverland, Director
Iowa Department of Elder Affairs
Jessie Parker Building
510 East 12th St., Suite 2
Des Moines, IA 50319-9025
515-725-3301
Fax: 515-725-3300
E-mail: Mark.haverland@dea.state.ia.us

KANSAS
Region VII
Kathy Greenlee, Acting Secretary
Kansas Department on Aging
New England Building
503 South Kansas Avenue
Topeka, KS 66603-3404
(785) 296-5222
Fax: (785) 296-0256
E-mail: kathygreenlee@aging.state.ks.us

KENTUCKY
Region IV
Bill Cooper, Director
Kentucky Division of Aging Services
Cabinet for Health Services
275 East Main Street, 5C-D
Frankfort, KY 40621
(502) 564-6930
Fax: (502) 564-4595
E-mail: Bill.cooper@ky.gov

LOUISIANA
Region VI
Godfrey White, Executive Director
Governor's Office of Elderly Affairs
PO Box 80374 [zip 70898-0374]
412 N. 4th Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
(225) 342-7100
Fax: (225) 342-7133
E-mail: gpwhite@goea.state.la.us

MAINE
Region I
Diana Scully, Director
Maine Office of Elder Services
Department of Human Services
442 Civic Center Drive
11 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0011
(207) 287-9200
Fax: (207) 287-9229
E-mail:Diana.scully@maine.gov

MARYLAND
Region III
Gloria Lawlah, Secretary
Maryland Department of Aging
301 West Preston Street, Suite 1007
Baltimore, MD 21201
(410) 767-1100
Fax: (410) 333-7943
E-mail: ggl@ooa.state.md.us

MASSACHUSETTS
Region I
Jennifer Davis Carey, Secretary
Massachusetts Executive Office of Elder Affairs
One Ashburton Place
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 222-7451
Fax: (617) 727-6944
E-mail: Jennifer.d.carey@state.ma.us

MICHIGAN
Region V
Sharon Gire, Executive Director
Michigan Office of Services to the Aging
P.O. Box 30676
7109 West Saginaw, First Floor (fed-ex zip 48917)
Lansing, MI 48909-8176
(517) 373-8230
Fax: (517) 373-4092
E-mail: OSADirector@michigan.gov

MINNESOTA
Region V
Jean Wood, Director
Minnesota Board on Aging
Aging and Adult Services Division
PO Box 64976
St. Paul, MN 55164-0976
(651) 431-2500 or 800-882-6262
Fax: (651) 431-7453
E-mail: jean.wood@state.mn.us

MISSISSIPPI
Region IV
Marion Dunn Tutor, Director
Mississippi Council on Aging
Division of Aging and Adult Services
750 N. State Street
Jackson, MS 39202
(601) 359-4925
Fax: (601) 359-4370
E-mail: Mdunn-tutor@mdhs.state.ms.us

MISSOURI
Region VII
Brenda Campbell, Division Director
Missouri Division of Senior & Disability Services
Dept of Health & Senior Services
P.O. Box 570
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570
(573) 526-3626
Fax: (573) 751-8687
Email: Brenda.campbell@dhss.mo.gov

MONTANA
Region VIII
Charles Rehbein, Aging Services Bureau Chief
Montana Office on Aging
Senior and Long Term Care Division
Department of Public Health and Human Services
111 Sanders Street
PO Box 4210
Helena, MT 59604
(406) 444-7788
Fax: (406) 444-7743
E-mail: crehbein@mt.gov

NEBRASKA
Region VII
Joann Weis, Director
Nebraska Health and Human Services – State Unit on Aging
Department of Health & Human Services
P.O. Box 95044
301 Centennial Mall – South
Lincoln, NE 68509
(402) 471-2307
Fax: (402) 471-4619
E-mail: Joann.weis@hhss.ne.gov

NEVADA
Region IX
Carol Sala, Administrator
Nevada Division for Aging Services
Department of Human Resources
3416 Goni Road, Building D-132
Carson City, NV 89706
(775) 687-4210
Fax: (775) 687-4264
E-mail: csala@aging.state.nv.us

NEW HAMPSHIRE
Region I
Diane Langley, Interim Bureau Adminstrator
New Hampshire Bureau of Elderly and Adult Services
Brown Building – 129 Pleasant St.
Concord, NH 03301-3857
(603) 271-4394
Fax: (603) 271-4643
E-mail: dlangley@dhhs.state.nh.us

NEW JERSEY
Region II
Patricia Polansky, Assistant Commissioner
New Jersey Division of Aging & Community Services
Department of Health & Senior Services
240 W. State Street (FedEx zip 08608-1002)
P.O. Box 807
Trenton, NJ 08625-0807
(609) 292-4027
Fax: (609) 943-3343
E-mail: patricia.polansky@doh.state.nj.us

NEW MEXICO
Region VI
Deborah Armstrong, Cabinet Secretary
New Mexico Aging & LTC Services Department
2550 Cerrillos Road
Santa Fe, NM 87505
(505) 476-4799 (main)
(505) 476-4738 (direct)
Fax: (505) 827-7649
E-mail: Debbie.Armstrong@state.nm.us

NEW YORK
Region II
Michael Burgess, Director
New York State Office for the Aging
Two Empire State Plaza
Albany, NY 12223-1251
(518) 474-7012
Fax: (518) 474-1398
E-mail: mike.burgess@ofa.state.ny.us

NORTH CAROLINA
Region IV
Dennis W. Streets, Director
North Carolina Division of Aging & Adult Services
Department of Health and Human Services
2101 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-2101
(919) 733-3983
Fax: (919) 733-0443
E-mail: Dennis.Streets@ncmail.net

NORTH DAKOTA
Region VIII
Linda Wright, Director
North Dakota Aging Services Division
Department of Human Services
600 East Boulevard Avenue
Department 325
Bismarck, ND 58505-0250
(701) 328-4601
Fax: (701) 328-2359
E-mail: sowril@state.nd.us

OHIO
Region V
Merle Kearns, Director
Ohio Department of Aging
50 West Broad Street – 9th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215-5928
(614) 466-7246
Fax: (614) 995-1049
E-mail:mkearns@age.state.oh.us

OKLAHOMA
Region VI
Carey Garland, Director
Aging Services Division
OK Department of Human Services
P.O. Box 25352
2401 N.W. 23rd St., Suite 40
Oklahoma City, OK 73107
(405) 521-2281
Fax: (405) 521-2086
E-mail: Carey.garland@okdhs.org

OREGON
Region X
James Toews, Assistant Director
Oregon Seniors and People With Disabilities
Department of Human Services
500 Summer St., NE, E02
Salem, OR 97301-1073
(503) 945-5811
Fax: (503) 373-7823
E-mail: James.d.toews@state.or.us

PENNSYLVANIA
Region III
Nora Dowd, Secretary
Pennsylvania Department of Aging
555 Walnut Street, 5th Floor
Harrisburg, PA 17101-1919
(717) 783-1550
Fax: (717) 772-3382
E-mail: ndowd@state.pa.us

PUERTO RICO
Region II
Rossana López León, Executive Director
Puerto Rico Governor's Office for Elderly Affairs
P.O. Box 191179
San Juan, PR 00919-1179
(787) 721-5710
Fax: (787) 721-6510
E-mail: rlopez@ogave.gobierno.pr

RHODE ISLAND
Region I
Corinne Russo, Director
Rhode Island Department of Elderly Affairs
John O. Pastore Center
Benjamin Rush Building, No. 55
35 Howard Ave.
Cranston, RI 02920
(401) 462-0500
Fax: (401) 462-0503
E-mail: crusso@dea.state.ri.us

(AMERICAN) SAMOA
Region IX
Taesalialii F. Lutu, Director
Territorial Administration on Aging
American Samoa Government
Pago Pago, American Samoa 96799
011 (684) 633-1251 or 633-1252
Fax: 011 (684) 633-2533

SOUTH CAROLINA
Region IV
Mike Easterday, Director
South Carolina Lieutenant Governor's Office on Aging
Bureau of Senior Services
1301 Gervais Street
Suite 200
Columbia, SC 29201
(803) 734-9900
Fax: (803) 734-9886
E-mail: measterday@aging.sc.gov

SOUTH DAKOTA
Region VIII
Gail Ferris, Administrator
South Dakota Office of Adult Services & Aging
Department of Social Services
700 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501
(605) 773-3656
Fax: (605) 773-6834
E-mail: Gail.ferris@state.sd.us

TENNESSEE
Region IV
Nancy C. Peace, Executive Director
Tennessee Commission on Aging and Disability
Andrew Jackson Building
500 Deaderick Street, No. 825
Nashville, TN 37243-0860
(615) 741-2056
Fax: (615) 741-3309
E-mail: Nancy.peace@state.tn.us

TEXAS
Region VI
Adelaide Horn, Commissioner
Texas Department of Aging & Disability Services
PO Box 149030 (W-619)
Austin, TX 78714-9030
(512) 438-3030
Fax: (512) 438-4220
e-mail: adelaide@dads.state.tx.us

U.S. VIRGIN ISLANDS
Region II
Eva Williams, Administrator
Virgin Islands Senior Citizen Affairs Administration
Department of Human Services
19 Estate Diamond Fredericksted
St. Croix, VI 00840
(340) 692-5950
Fax: (340) 692-2062
E-mail: brodina@viaccess.net

UTAH
Region VIII
Alan Ormsby, Director
Utah Division of Aging & Adult Services
Department of Human Services
120 North 200 West, Room 325
Salt Lake City, UT 84103
(801) 538-3910
Fax: (801) 538-4395
E-mail: akormsby@utah.gov

VERMONT
Region I
Patrick Flood, Commissioner
Vermont Department of Disabilities, Aging and Independent Living
103 South Main Street, Osgood #1
Waterbury, VT 05671-2301
(802) 241-2400
Fax: (802) 241-2325
E-mail: Patrick.flood@dail.state.vt.us

VIRGINIA
Region III
Julie Christopher, Commissioner
Virginia Department for the Aging
1610 Forest Avenue, Suite 100
Richmond, VA 23229
(804) 662-9333
Fax: (804) 662-9354

WASHINGTON
Region X
Kathy Leitch, Assistant Secretary
Washington Aging and Disability Services
Department of Social & Health Services
Mail Stop 45050
14th and Jefferson, Office Bldg. 2
Olympia, WA 98504-5010
(360) 902-7797
Fax: (360) 902-7848
E-mail: leitckj@dshs.wa.gov

WEST VIRGINIA
Region III
Sandra Vanin, Commissioner
West Virginia Bureau of Senior Services
1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East
3003 Town Center Mall (Fed-ex zip 25389)
Charleston, WV 25305-0160
(304) 558-3317
Fax: (304) 558-5609
E-mail: svanin@boss.state.wv.us

WISCONSIN
Region V
Donna McDowell, Bureau Director
Wisconsin Bureau of Aging and Disability Resources
Department of Health and Family Services
One West Wilson Street, Room 450 (fed-ex zip 53702)
PO Box 7851
Madison, WI 53707-7851
(608) 266-2536
Fax: (608) 267-3203
E-mail: mcdowdb@dhfs.state.wi.us

WYOMING
Region VIII
Beverly Morrow, Administrator
Wyoming Aging Division
Department of Health
6101 Yellow Stone Road, Room 259B
Cheyenne, WY 82002
(307) 777-7986 or 800-442-2766
Fax: (307) 777-5340
E-mail: bmorro@state.wy.us